Liberal Arts Division

Home » Departments


All RISD students are required to take a third of their classes in liberal arts, a division that includes three departments:

Additional Liberal Arts electives, including Science for Art and Design Education courses, may be used to fulfill liberal arts requirements

In addition to offering a wide range of courses, each department also allows for a “concentration” – a more focused program of study for students interested in concentrating their liberal arts studies within one of the departments. Liberal arts faculty are also open to working with students one-on-one through for-credit Independent Study Projects (ISPs).